Please consider joining a committee!  You do not need to be on the board to do so.  If interested, please email contact@mcraonline.com to learn more about a committee you may be interested in serving. 


Social Media & Website Committee (New Committee)

Chair: Dawn Mack

Members:  Janet Wynne, Darlene Caiazzo-Sousa, Cathy Zelinski (This team works with Digital Combat for content)

The social media & website committee shall maintain Facebook accounts (business & regular), monitor posts and answer questions, gather content from NCRA website, PYRP articles.  Vet and accept new "friend" requests, cultivate new relationships with other state associations, work in assisting other committees that need to promote events via social media including Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter.  Monitor & keep MCRA website current.  Work with the web designer when necessary.

Digital Reporting Combat Team Committee (New Committee)

Chair: Jill Kourafas

Members:  Kathy Tevnan, Marianne Wharram, Jen Milette, Janet Wynne, Cathy Zelinski

Follow PYRP's lead of promoting Flip the Script.  Encourage membership to follow PYRP's Facebook page.  Create premium profile for MA.  Connect with stenographers around the country.  Attend PYRP Zoom sessions.  Work on and send email blast campaigns to attorneys.  Educate membership on Notary laws.  Encourage membership on the benefits of certifications & licenses.  Track digital recorder campaigns and inform membership. Work with web designer to create an informational section to be published.

Membership Committee
Chair: Janet Wynne
Members:  Darlene Caiazzo-Sousa (Three members needed) 

The membership committee shall promote membership in MCRA and encourage members to be involved in events, initiatives and goals.

Mentoring Committee (New 2021)

Chair:  (Seat Open)

Members:  Megan Speed, Janet Wynne, Jen Milette  

Recruit experienced reporters to mentor new reporters/students.  Recruit students/new reporters that need mentors.  Market mentoring program on social media.  Give quarterly updates to membership of mentors/mentees. 

Legislative Committee
Chair: Marianne Wharram, 
Members: Jill Kourafas, Cathy Zelinski 

The Legislative Committee shall keep informed of matters that affect both positively and negatively the stenographic court reporting profession. When necessary, the legislative committee shall educate stenographic court reporters and the legal community on the ethics, laws-, and statutes regarding the practice of stenographic court reporting in the Commonwealth, seek enforcement of the Commonwealth’s laws and statutes, and shall aid in the drafting and passage of legislation for the advancement of the stenographic court reporting profession. 

Certification Committee
Chair: Kim Bouzan

Member:  Megan Speed, Kathy Tevnan

The certification committee shall conduct the NCRA and MCRA examinations.  The committee shall issue a certificate to each candidate who has satisfactorily passed the Certified Shorthand Reporter examination. 

Education Committee
Chair: Megan Speed

Members: Darlene Caiazzo-Sousa, Kim Bouzan, Jen Milette, Cathy Zelinski

The education committee shall keep informed of court reporting training programs and assist where possible in the development and success of said programs.  

Convention and Events Committee

Chair: Jacqueline Curran

Members: Susan Wilson, Kathy Tevnan 

The convention and events committee shall assist in the planning and implementing of educational and social events, and the annual convention, sponsored by MCRA.  Events may include holiday party, Zoom parties, and fun events involving membership.

Raffle Committee

Chair: Jacqueline Curran

Members:  Susan Wilson

The raffle committee is in charge of purchasing raffle items from the designated raffle bank account as well as hosting, promoting raffles at all events.  Decide raffle ticket prices, promote raffles via social media, etc., host raffle on the day of event convention, s

Outreach Committee  (This Committee works with Digital Combat Committee)

Chair: Darlene Caiazzo-Sousa

Members: Kim Bouzan, Jen Milette, Megan Speed Marianne Wharram 

The outreach committee shall endeavor to raise awareness of the court reporting profession and MCRA by initiating contacts and developing relationships in the legal community and elsewhere.

Nominating Committee

Chair: Darlene Caiazzo-Sousa

Members:  (Please consider serving on this worthwhile committee)

The nominating committee will nominate officers and members of the Executive Board for the action of the membership at the annual meeting. 

Bylaws Committee  (As Needed)

Chair: (No Current Chair)

Members:  (Please consider serving on this worthwhile committee)  

The bylaws shall be reviewed annually after the installation of a new board by all board members to conduct a review of the bylaws of the association and propose such amendments as, in its judgement, are deemed necessary to coordinate and simplify the Bylaws and to eliminate conflicting and impracticable provisions therein.  A committee will be chosen when and if a change of the bylaws is voted upon by the board and follow all rules necessary to inform the membership and institute a change in the bylaws.